Skip to content

I. do. not. like. this.

October 10, 2010

Pet peeves. I’m going to take this moment for a little rant. Despite it being Thanksgiving weekend (here in Canada anyway), i have decided to address a subject that bugs me.

One of the greatest pet peeves i have always had, and probably will until my dying day, is towels that don’t dry. You know the ones. You’re old towels are “out of date,” or “no longer the right color because you repainted the bathroom.” Those towels. So now you must go out and buy new towels, doing so begrudgingly. The first time you use your brand new, should literally suck the water off of you towels, but instead you find yourself drip-drying because the towels have some sort of water repellant on them. Are you kidding me! The worst towels ever. And all new towels now come with this “wonderful” (note the sarcasm) feature. Ugh. Upsets me.

But there are two newer pet peeve that are climbing the ranks, and probably sit at third and second place respectively. They are: 3)Abbreviations, bad grammar 2)The. period. after. each. word.

3)Whatevs: by abbreviating the word ‘whatever’ to ‘whatevs’ you have shortened the word by one letter, and made the sentence impossible to get through without actually pausing to check the wording. not cool. There are too many abbreviations to get into, so i’ll just leave it at that.

Bad grammar: ‘should of’ E.g. It’s been so crazy lately, i should of just not done anything yesterday and rested all day. This is just poor sentence structure. p.s. i am also aware that my use of the lower case ‘i’ can be infuriating, but that’s for another discussion.

2)I. don’t. think. i. need. to. explain. this. one. Absolutely annoying. The only thing it does is break up the sentence. If you’re trying to go for effect CAPS LOCK YOUR WORDS, don’t. kill. the. thought. process. of. your. sentence. This just does not emphasize any point you are trying to make.

Did i miss any?

Do you have any pet peeves that drive you crazy?

Let everyone know.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. justsnapd8 permalink
    October 10, 2010 7:27 pm

    I had to laugh at this post, thankfully you had it filed under ‘funny’ so it’s ok! Towels! I suppose we’ve all had the same problem at one time or another. Currently, my towels are so old, they absorb perfectly!

    The ‘should of’ issue, I think was meant to should’ve, though I have no clue if that’s proper (and it’s ok with me if it’s not :).)

    “I. don’t. think. i. need. to. explain. this. one.” No, you don’t need to explain, it annoyed me trying to read it.

    Thanks!

    • October 11, 2010 9:54 am

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. I had a lot of fun writing it, if only to vent a little bit.

Leave a Reply

