Skip to content

Contemplation

October 17, 2010

I’m a people watcher. I can go to a restaurant and pretend to read a newspaper or book, all the while observing the actions of the other people in the restaurant. I observe the couple who are upset with each other, but making the sincerest effort to love each other. I observe the child playing on the bench with a simple attitude toward life. I observe the friends in the booth across the room gently poking fun at each other, if only to laugh at themselves and the things they do.

I observe, carefully, the people in just about every situation that i find myself in. I am slowly (slow as in a turtle’s pace slow) growing more comfortable talking about faith and Christ with people outside my immediate contacts.

We had a Thanksgiving Dinner (Thanksgiving was last weekend in Canada, for those unaware) at church yesterday. It was really good. We had it catered so that the people attending didn’t have to worry about anything in kitchen. We had a classical guitarist playing music during the meal, and he played a few songs during the program as well. The food was great, the speaker (our new pastor Abe Klassen) gave his testimony and closed with an opportunity for anyone who was not a Christian to pray the sinners prayer.

That was the main reason for the dinner. It was an outreach event where the congregants were encouraged to bring friends who either have not been attending church for some time, or to invite friends who do not know Christ as their personal saviour.

I took the opportunity to invite the uncle i live with. “If nothing else,” i told him, “It’s a free turkey dinner with all the fixings.” This particular uncle has not stepped inside a church in way too many years, except for the occasional wedding. His past is a little checkered and i think he just doesn’t feel worthy to be a Christian, or that God could love him because of the past. I had bought a table of eight, but more than anything was hoping that he would decide to show up. I asked another aunt and uncle if they would like to come, but they declined. I asked my parents if they would like to come. It was my hope that if they showed up (they are church goers) my uncle would be that much more likely to show up. My parents declined as well, but my uncle showed up. At home later, he said that he had a great time.

The contemplation: Faith takes work. It’s hard. Any day (everyday?) can be a struggle. But the mandate of Christians is to preach the gospel. To spread the good news. All the time i hear Christians talking about how they need a church that will minister to them. They need a church that fills a certain “itch” in order to make them feel comfortable. Whatever happened to the mandate? What happened to stretching ourselves and growing in Christ? What happened to the urgency that the Apostle Paul lived his life by?

If you are a Christian reading this, allow me to ask a few questions. Are you living with the urgency that Paul lived with? Are you ministering to those around you in a loving manner? Are you living the example that Christ set forth for us? Are you living your life with complete abandonment to self, for the sake of those who do not know Christ?

Those are my thoughts this crisp, cool morning. Thank you for listening to my thoughts.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 2:02 pm

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.

    • November 4, 2010 11:37 am

      Give God all the glory. he is the one who has placed this issue on my heart

Leave a Reply

