Skip to content

A Vote.

October 25, 2010

I struggle with voting. I have always voted. But i have struggled with it. Who to vote for. One person says this, and the other person says that. Friends argue for one candidate while other friends argue for another.

But what difference does my vote make in the end anyway, right?

WRONG!

It is difficult in this day and age to think that anything can change when we vote. Politicians are all liars anyway, and my vote doesn’t make a difference. this is the lie that people have bought into. Even Christians.

God gave us a mandate to elect his officials, and to pray for them, so that God’s work can be done from the top down.

The problem is that often the people we would vote for normally, are not the same people who are pro-life, or they support gay rights, etc. If the position of the person i am voting for has a platform that benefits me, but goes against my Christian beliefs about certain things, i must, I MUST, change who i vote for. Just because i am pro-life does not give me the right to vote for someone who is pro-choice. Voting for someone who is pro-choice because they have a platform that cuts my personal taxes and gives college students more funding, means that i am contributing to the constant struggle in legislation on the issue of abortion.

The Americans have a vote coming up soon. Hopefully they will realize that their vote does make a difference.

In Manitoba, we have elections coming up on Wednesday, October 27. Get out there and vote people.

Do you vote? Do you skip out? Let your voice be heard.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Zoë permalink
    October 28, 2010 9:26 am

    I didn’t vote yesterday.
    I do believe it is very important, but I just didn’t know enough about the candidates and what they stood for, and felt like I would be going in completely blind. I suppose that’s mostly my fault… though if there was some sort of public debate or somewhere that showcased the different people running and what they stood for I didn’t hear about it.

    • October 28, 2010 9:52 am

      That’s understandable. Perhaps when it comes to municipal elections, people don’t try to get as informed. I should hope though, that when it comes to bigger elections, provincial and federal, that due diligence and research are done to be well informed going in. Thanks for your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

