Skip to content

King David

January 12, 2011

Have you ever wondered what it takes to be a king or queen? At least in some places, these people have great responsibilities. Ultimately, even in Canada we are subject to Queen Elizabeth II. I would doubt she has any real leadership role in Canada anymore, but still, technically, we still answer to her.

This past Sunday i had the pleasure of leading the worship service at church. Pastor Abe had titled his sermon “The Word to Live By”. I used that title to prepare for the service. I tried to lead the people into this frame of mind by opening up with the following paragraphs. I have added and edited it to make more sense here, than the few minutes i had on Sunday. Enjoy.

     Over the years, one of the more popular bumper stickers that has emerged is the “I’d rather be…” bumper stickers. For example, “I’d rather be fishing,” or “I’d rather be golfing.” The list really is endless. I saw one not long ago that said, “I’d rather be rock-climbing,” which of course made me smile, being a rock-climber myself. But reflecting on these bumper stickers got me thinking. A lot of the time, these things that we’d “rather be doing,” are things that consume us, and we end up living for that purpose. We devote so much time to that thing it takes us away from the joys we might have had elsewhere.

Reflecting on this, I began to think about men and women of the Bible, specifically King David. Being a King is a lot of work. I can’t imagine the responsibility involved in ruling a people like kings and queens do. That’s huge responsibility. Think about that for just a moment. Then multiply that by a hundred, if you think of the Bible times. Kings in the Old Testament had it rough. Even King David. His family situation was a joke, and he was constantly going to war with the enemies of the Israelites. But despite all the kingly duties that David was responsible for, he still left us his version of the bumper sticker, “I’d rather be…”.

We find this bumper sticker in Psalm 27:4, “One thing i have desired of the Lord, that will i seek: That i may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord, and to inquire in his temple.” In other words, “I’d rather be worshipping God, and spending time looking at him, and inquiring in his temple.”

That’s a powerful statement, but David doesn’t end there. In Psalm 119:11 he writes, “Your word I have hidden in my heart, that I might not sin against You.”

Then in Psalm 119:50 we read David’s own confession of these two thoughts coming together, “This is my comfort in my affliction, for Your word has given me life.”

Hmmm! Your Word has given me life.

What would your bumper sticker say? What has been giving you life?

Since Sunday i have had some thoughts to add to this:

 Pastor Abe’s message came from John 1:1-5 (at least the main portion of it) with a few other verses from John 1 as well. This passage of course deals with the Word. 1:1-5 reads, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things were made through him, and without him nothing was made that was made. In him waslife, and the life was the light of men. And the light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it.”

This is the Word to live by that Pastor Abe was trying to get at. Jesus is who gives life, and who we should live our lives by. I wonder if David had some sort of insight into this. Your Word has given me life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

