Skip to content

God is…

February 9, 2011

People often try to ask the question, “Who is God?” More interesting than the question are the answers that they sometimes come up with. The Bible has many verses that tell us specifically who God is. And so, as i journey along life’s path, i have decided that from time to time, i will post a verse telling us, or better yet, reminding us, and me, who God is. I will also include some personal reflection on the verse given…

#1 — Psalm 71:6-7

By you I have been upheld from birth; You are He who took me out of my mother’s womb. My praise shall be continually of You. I have become as a wonder to many, but You are my strong refuge.

Of course, if you read just about any Psalm, there is a verse or two that describe who God is, but this passage (and the whole chapter really) is quite interesting. The Psalmist declares that the only reason he or she is living is because of God. As a pro-life supporter, i find this comforting. Personally, i forget sometimes how true the Psalmist’s words are. I might try to argue the pro-life stance, but these verses show just where the argument really ends up. God is the one who has protected me. I was born because God was watching over me. He made sure that my life was worth something to someone, and that i deserved to live. He protected me in the womb, and when the time was right (i was in the womb a full ten months), God brought me forth in this world.

There have been times in my life when i have not trusted God so much, and during those times, i forget His awesome protection over me. I don’t praise Him as much when i have my doubts or struggles. There were times when i struggled with why God even allowed me to be born. But He did. And now i can look back, thankful for my life. I praise God for taking me out of my mother’s womb.

But what’s more, he has blessed me with friends and family (both my immediate family and my beloved church family) who love me. Notice that the Psalmist says as much when he or she writes, “I have become a wonder to many, but You are my strong refuge.” Some people go through life trying with all their might to become famous. The Psalmist, it appears, was known by many people, maybe even famous in their eyes, and yet he or she gives God all the glory. God is my strong refuge. The wing under which i can be safe.

Who is God? God is the one who took me out of my mother’s womb. And God is my refuge. God is the one to whom i give all the glory!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

