Skip to content

Psalm 139

February 24, 2011

Where can i go from Your Spirit? Or where can i flee from Your presence? If i ascend into heaven, You are there; If i make my bed in hell, behold, You are there. If i take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there Your hand shall lead me, and Your right hand shall hold me. If i say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me,” even the night shall be light about me; Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You, but the night shines as the day; the darkness and the light are both alike to You.

For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb.

I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

Marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows very well. My frame was not hidden from You, when i was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Your eyes saw my substance, be yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them. Psalm 139:7-16.

This past weekend i had the opportunity to drive a bus full of youth and a few leaders to Briercrest Bible College for their annual youth event called Youth Quake. I could go into detail about events throughout the weekend, but instead, i’d like to share a few words about the theme that surrounded the weekend. Grant Fishbook was the main speaker, and the theme was our Identity.

Whatever the world, society, culture, might call you/me, God calls us his child, his chosen people, anointed.

As Christians our identity is found in who Christ is.

I have been meditating on this over the past few days. And my mind keeps coming back to Psalm 139. I love that God doesn’t make mistakes. David declares in this Psalm “I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” Now, i don’t have time to go into an exposition on this phrase. Just know that David wasn’t talking about being afraid. God is awesome, and he forms us in the womb of our mother’s. Not only that, but we are wonderfully made. He is pleased with you. He is pleased with me. He made you and me that way. Amen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

