Skip to content

Give it a rest already

April 27, 2011

I was watching the “news” broadcast today at lunch and i became rather disgusted. I say “news” because what passes for news these days is making me rather nauseous. I’ll get to that in just a second. But before i do, i must say that i have started feeling this way for a good while already.

I enjoy the coverage of the election that the news has, and even some of the odd stories they share. I don’t mind the 18 times they show little bits and pieces of the weather forcast (okay that’s an exageration, but i think you know what i’m talking about, although Global news does a better job of just lumping it all together in one concise showing).

What is absolutely sickening is the amount of time spent on the Royal Wedding coming up. In fact, it’s just about everywhere one turns now-a-days. Ugh. I think i just vomitted in my mouth a little bit. But back to the “news” cast. The CTV news cast i was watching had an interview with Jeanie Beker from Fashion Television. The interview went on forever. I turned the channel and watched a complete video game review of some kind or another on CityTV, turned it back and the interview was still going. It must have been close to 10 minutes long. The tail-end of the interview, which i caught, even included a discussion about people who were gambling on what color of outfit the Queen would wear to the wedding. Yep. That’s what qualifies as news now-a-days.

I watched as the clock ran closer to 1:00, quickly realizing that there would be a very short (read: 2 minutes or so) sports recap. In Canada in the middle of playoff season, this is a tragedy. Anyway, they were able to recap the Habs, Canucks, and Moose games from last night very briefly, and then the Philly/Buffalo game even quicker. That was that. The sports segment was over.

Thanks. At least i know i can bet on what color the Queen will be wearing.

Comments are closed.

