Skip to content

Eyes Opened

June 15, 2011

(updated on July 1, 2011 – I found a video for what is written below)

Preacher and teacher Corey Russell says,

“Wanna get my eyes opened. That’s why Paul prayed that the eyes of your understanding would be enlightened. The eyes, like never before, this generation especially, the church, Jesus says, “If your eyes are good, your whole body is good.” Jesus says, “Where your eyes go, that’s where you go.” We are in a fight for the eyes, and that’s why beloved I am declaring an all-out assault: That it is time to begin to call forth a turning, Psalm 119:36-37, “Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things.”

Some of us are so stuck on so many PG movies we have no appetite for real pleasure. So many are so stuck on so many “GOOD THINGS” we have no appetite for REAL THINGS… We’re so jaded by all the sitcoms that have sex stringing through them that our eyes are so defiled that we don’t even recognize a small affair here; a small fornication here, a small homosexual relationship here. WE ARE GETTING OUR SENSES DULLED. Psalm 13, “enlighten my eyes lest I sleep the sleep of death.” Beloved right now the church is sleeping a sleep of death. Our faculties are shot. Our prophetic senses are shot. The spirit of revelation is absent in the land, and we don’t know any different. I’m here to sound an alarm: It’s time we begin to see something different, because if we don’t see, we die. Without vision you perish, Amen! You don’t get vision you die. Once the gates are shut, you die.

That’s why the all out fight says I’m fighting for my eyes. Psalm 119 says, “Open my eyes that I might see wondrous things from your laws.” All wonder restored to the church. Eyes Opened, and we declare an all out assault against the power of immorality. This is the spirit of Jezebel that is teaching servants, and seducing servants into immorality. It’s the spirit of Jezebel that waters everything down and begins to dull our senses to the power of immorality. I call a generation to something higher.”

 Is he so wrong?

What do you think?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Hopeful permalink
    June 30, 2011 7:27 pm

    I totally agree. It was something that was brought to my attention recently that in those wrestling shows so many guys watch, there are women fighting in skimpy, almost nothing outfits, and these guys watching “wrestling” sit there and watch this – like for some reason it’s better than watching strippers dance in those very same type outfits…

    • July 1, 2011 7:31 am

      Thanks for your comment. It hits close to home as I am one of those guys who grew up on watching wrestling. At first I didn’t think anything of it, but over the course of time, you’re right, the outfits did change. It’s so gradual I didn’t even see my guard going down. The conviction to stay away from that area in my life is so strong right now, because I could easily be dragged back into the wrestling world, and it would have a negative impact on me. If you will, pray for this area of my life.

  2. Wayne permalink
    September 13, 2011 7:10 pm

    j, this is Wayne. whoever wrote that comment was right. We’ve been to so many ppv’s, and out of my dedication to Christ and love for my wife, i don’t watch the ladies wrestling. Their outfits are ridiculous as well as their wrestling talent. I’ve noticed as of late even Derek doesn’t watch them.(at least at ppv’s). Do you still watch “Family Guy”‘ or “Two and a Half Men”? movies with nudity or flagrant sex in them? Movies with bikini clad women that leave little to the imagination? Movies such as “Talledega Nights” or Super Troopers”? those movies have senseless jokes. They are meant to entertain, and they are damn funny!! (sans any nudity). I’ve read a couple o your blogs, and don’t necessarily agree with all the ones I’ve read. (i.e. the Christmas one, the Roaring Lion[your 1st entry], the Oprah one). J,most of the bums in the streets of any city, including Winnipeg, want $ for drugs and/or booze.) When they sit on the corner of the street passed out from lysol or gas, or sit there begging for $ so they can get a next high, a person starts feeling NOT sorry for them. You can witness to them, but like a rebel teenager in school, it goes in one ear and out the other. I know. There are ample jobs for them out there such as McDonalds or whatever. They get a free meal and place to stay at Siloam. No reason for them to try a little and do something. In fact, some of them CHOOSE that lifestyle. As for Christmas. a great many people do decorate and bake cookies and what have you, but that doesn’t mean that its taking away from Christ. Sarah and I always decorate. We do it with joy in our hearts. Its our tradition. It will be something we pass down to our children(when we have them). Christ will come 1st, but decorating and christmas “stuff” won’t take away from Him. This is 2011. almost 2012. This is the way things are. If a person can’t have fun at christmas time without decorating or giving gifts, somethings wrong with that person. AS for me, I like getting stuff for christmas. I also like giving stuff for christmas. It gives a person a good feeling to see the joy in someone when they open a gift. Not only that, instead of tithing last year, Sarah and I put our 10% away for a couple o months and bought a $1000 worth of toys and gave the rest to Salvation Army at the 92 Citi FM Bed-In at the Forks. I’m not looking for applause or anything, just agreeing with anonymous on the christmas blog post o yours about the amount of $ people spend. Doesn’t matter what a person spends it on, its whats in their hearts.
    I don’t really like or agree with everything Oprah does or believes in. However,she HAS helped millions of people and does hold a lot of sway with many other millions. It’s up to the individual to siphon out whats good and not so good. Oprah is a very powerful woman, and as far as i’m concerned, has earned that position. Her shows’ actually a hell of a lot more wholesome than a lot of other shows on t.v.
    J,i love you. You’re my brother. I’ll always stand up for family(even beat them up if they beat up family). You’re passing judgement on things you have NO control over and the participants.(gay marriage). It is a sin according to God’s word but if there are 2 (male/female) christians who want to make a go at a life together, who am I to judge? I have enough on my plate to worry about that. I will love them as Christ loves them. The time will come when everyone WILL be judged. Leave it to God.
    Jesus came to earth that we may have life and have it more abundant. If that means i can decorate my house, watch Oprah, and not worry about gay marriage, while trying to make millions(ha ha), and doing all this with my wife and enjoying every minute of it, well…..then……. Praise the Lord.

  3. Wayne permalink
    September 13, 2011 7:21 pm

    P.S. Sorry about bugging you about your hair. Didn’t know it meant that much to you. However……

  4. September 15, 2011 3:50 pm

    Hey Wayne, thanks for your comment, and thanks for visiting the site. I’ve noticed at the ppv’s when you and Derek go out, and I applaud you for it. I don’t always go out because I just can’t handle the smoking sometimes, but usually find myself wandering around the house while those matches are on. And no I really don’t watch “Family Guy” or “Two and a Half Men” anymore. Possibly worse than those is “Big Bang Theory” which I’ve all but stopped watching as well. Still catch the odd episode (in fairness, probably of all three), but the reality is that much of the programming on T.V. now a days is so horrible it’s just not worth watching. The same can be said about the movies. Yes they may be funny/entertaining (sans any nudity), but is that any reason to watch them? Should I compromise my faith because something is funny? Just something to ponder.

    As for agreeing with any of my posts, I am not asking anyone to do so and never have.

    I’m not sure where the rant about the “bums in the streets” came from because I have shared numerous stories of encounters I have had with homeless people. But let me say this. There are many comments from many readers who ask if I am being too judgmental about a situation, including you in this post, and yet you are being quite judgmental about these “bums”. Yes, some choose to be on the street. We don’t know their situation and so can’t pass judgment on them. Yes, there is a good chance that the beggar I give money to on the street will use it for drugs or alcohol or any other addiction they have. I cannot control that. However, even as I hand over the change/cash, I can pray that God will assault (and I use that word in my prayers) the person that I give the money to. I pray that the Holy Spirit will convict the heart of the person to use the money in a wholesome way, and not for their addictions. I cannot control them, and they will use that money however they want, but I am confident in God and in his ability to reach any person. I am no more holy and precious to God than the beggars on the street. God is no respecter of persons, so I shouldn’t be either. It’s true that preaching (as in: using words) won’t work, but by my actions I am preaching just as well (St. Francis: Preach the gospel; if necessary use words).

    As for the whole Christmas thing, the reason for the post is to challenge people to think about what they do during the season and why. It seems to have solidified in your mind the practice that you and Sarah hold to, so I suppose it has done well. I am not against any of the normal Christmas traditions (as I stated in the post) such as shopping, gift giving, decorating etc. What I am against is this “stuff” taking precedence over Christ. If this “stuff” is an extension of your worship, that’s great. However, in the West, much of this “stuff” is taking precedence over any relationship with Christ. And I have no problem saying that publicly.

    As for the Oprah post, I found the article quite good, and quite accurate. Yes, her show is a lot more wholesome than much of the other programming, but just being good doesn’t cut it. Yes, she has helped countless people throughout her life and given them all kinds of gifts or inspired them on to better things. But the writer is not far off the mark in the comments he makes about her show promoting a generic form of “spirituality”. Is she a Christian? I’ve never heard it. Yes she helps people, but “doing good” doesn’t get me or you or Oprah into heaven.

    One final comment: When is a person “passing judgment” on things and when are they confronting immoral practices? I ask because there is a difference between passing judgment and holding people to greater accountability. Yes homosexuality and gay marriage is wrong. It is not the way God created people to exist. I love these people no less, but I will not compromise my faith and the scriptures because the world has become a tolerant place. It is my responsibility as a Christian to shine a light on darkness and not allow a veil to be pulled over the eyes of people. It is not judgment, it is accountability to the Word of God. The notion that the world wants is for people to be “politically correct” or “tolerant” of other people. But when that tolerance goes against the scriptures, it is our duty as Christian men and women to stand up and fight. And fight I shall. I won’t judge. But I will not back down for the sake of righteousness either.

  5. Wayne permalink
    September 15, 2011 11:04 pm

    J, the word of God says there is a time to take up your swords and fight and a time to lay them down and make plowshares. A person cant fight his/her life and not wish for a time of peace. Sometimes, as children of God, we HAVE to “lay our swords down”. You as well as I know that a homosexual marriage or relationship is not right in the eyes of God. In North America, people know this. Most of these people have been witnessed or subjected to the word of God in a negative way. Unfortunate, but true. If I was a non-christian, and was not ready to hear the word of God, I would tell that person to piss off. I don’t wanna hear this. It doesn’t matter if the christians heart is in it or not, its whats in the recipients. I’m not asking you to compromise your faith on the issue of homosexuality, however, this is a decision these people have made, even if they are christians, and it will be dealt with when the time comes. NOT your problem.
    Who cares what Oprah preaches or believes in? Have you watched every show in the last 25 years? nope. didn’t think so. Just because you read something somewhere about her, because someone doesn’t like her, doesn’t mean its true. Do you know for a fact she’s not christian? What if she is but, like most every body, like um, Alice Cooper, doesn’t advertise it. There are preachers, teachers, givers, tithers, and just plain old believers in this world. According to Paul anyway. Those with a calling to be teachers and preachers will be held to a higher standard come judgment. According to Paul anyway. Be careful j< on what you say and teach.
    J, you DON'T win people to Christ by pointing a finger. Believe me. I was one of those people. The amount of times you or someone else "preached" to me, the further i went away from God. No one changed my mind about Him. It was all up to me and at my time.
    Here's a thought: Instead of giving $ to the bums on the street, why don't you buy a bag of cookies or like snacks , wrap them up individually and hand those out? DON'T give them $. In fact, if you give them $, that really only encourages them to not get the help they need, but continue on their begging. How am I being judgmental? I'll tell you judgmental. When Jer and I went to Toronto about 7 years ago, we went out walking and whatnot.
    We were walking down a street and there was a bum on the street. Jer and I were approaching this person and he asked for $. I told him to get a job. He said he can't. So I said, "Well then, die." What was stopping that person from using the $ he begged from other people to buy a shaver and perhaps some clothes from a used clothing store, cleaning himself up,and getting a job? I'm sure if he had given a little effort, even a place like mcdonalds would have hired him. but you know what, J, he can make more $ on the streets begging than getting a job. In fact, he probably makes more $, tax free , than I do.
    Let me tell you something else. Movies are entertainment. So is T.V. I watch Family Guy because it is funny. we, Sarah and I will watch a movie because we want to. If a nude scene comes on,I turn my head away. I remember you saying that "The Wrestler" with Mickey Rourke was an excellent movie. Did You watch the whole thing? from beginning to end? I couldn't. turned it off half way through.
    J, be careful what you say or write on your blogs. I, too, have a voice, and will "roar" if I read something that contradicts the way life IS. Accept people for who they are, not what they are.
    It's gotta be me saying these things to you, because I won't pull any "punches". And frankly, I don't care who gives a damn. You don't win people to Christ by writing bad or judgmental things about people.(i.e.oprah) Or about how christians "should" be. Christ forgave me for all the shit i did, and sometimes still do. am i condemned because of that? I don't think so. if i was married to a guy, and we were both christians, would we be condemned? segregated? hated? in this "christian" town?
    looking forward to your next post, love,
    WAYNE

    • September 17, 2011 10:53 am

      Wayne, I won’t say anything about “laying our swords down” because the reality is that Christians have laid their swords down for far too long, and not fought back against the evil things that the world continues to perpetuate. Witnessing to people is so much more than just spewing out scripture and preaching hellfire and brimstone. The people you reference have been preached AT… not TO…. And the preaching they have received has most likely (not always I am sure, but a majority of the time [?]) been one of conviction, and not delivered out of a place of love. In those cases, I would argue with you that they are being judged. However, if someone approaches the people you describe out of a place of genuine love for God, where they see the brokenness and instead of hellfire and brimstone, talk to these people out of care and love, that goes a long way and the people might actually want to hear what the “preacher” has to say.

      For instance, I ran into a homeless fellow named Mario some time back and we spoke for about 45 minutes to an hour. He had two masters degrees in fine arts. Not long before I met him, he had lost his job that he had been at for years because of cutbacks from the recession, and wasn’t able to find a new job. After a few months his wife left him and took the kids. He couldn’t pay for the house anymore so he lost that, and because he still couldn’t find work, ended up on the street. Here was a man with masters degrees and he couldn’t find work, and not for a lack of trying. We don’t know the situations these people face. Anyway, while we were talking he asked what I did for work, so I told him I was a youth pastor and he said, “Your one of those Christian people? You’re not like any of the Christian’s I’ve ever met before.”

      So when we approach people, homeless or homosexual or whatever, the love of Christ must first and foremost shine through.

      No I don’t know for sure if Oprah is a Christian, but she’s had 25 years in the public eye to proclaim it if she is, and on the grandest stage of them all. If she is a Christian, what is the harm in professing it? And that goes for Alice Cooper too. For example, look at a guy like Brian “HEAD” Welch, former lead guitarist for the band Korn. He became a Christian and went public with it. People continue to call him a sell-out, when the fact remains that he gave up a rock star life and all that comes with it for the sake of his faith in Christ. I’m reminded of Scott Stapp, the guy from the band Creed, that was so popular in the ‘90’s. A lot of his lyrics had a Christian ideal to them, but because he knew that the band would lose their following if he pronounced his faith, the controversy over his “faith” lingered for years. Why not just profess faith and deal with not being the world’s greatest band?

      Yes, preachers and teachers will be held to a higher accountability at the end of the age. So let me ask you this: Is not my responsibility as a preacher and teacher to call people to higher accountability in their Christian walk? Not out of a place of judgment (which I’ll address in my next post), but out of a conviction to see people grow into the fullness of God.

      As for the whole entertainment industry, be it movies or T.V. or music or otherwise, much of it is so degrading and filthy that our senses have become dulled. Not all of it is bad. But a lot of it is. The media industry has profited so much and infiltrated our minds so much with issues like homosexuality, that we are dull to the scriptures that say it is a sin. Just because society thinks it’s okay, does not make it so. But churches the world over simply accept homosexuality as a normal thing. Governments the world over bend their laws and create new ones so that these gay people can marry each other. We are called, as Christians, to fight this fight. Again, not out of a fire and brimstone mentality, but out of love.

  6. angel permalink
    September 16, 2011 1:11 pm

    The commandment we are left with is “to love one another” – my job is to love as Christ loves, the Holy Spirit’s job is to convict. If I’m living my life as a finger pointing judgment on others they will not be open to receive the love God wants them to have through me. If I’m so judgmental no one ever desires a relationship with me, how am I ever going to have the opportunity to share God’s love? People aren’t saved bc of fire and brimstone and hell and sin and judgment and negativity – they are saved by seeing the limitless, neverending, all-encompassing love and forgiveness of God. I agree, we should preach the gospel wherever we are and when necessary use words – but if the words we are choosing when we do use words are only showing the negative consequences of not following God, how are people going to be drawn to the warm and forgiving embrace of a loving God who is always ready to run to us and forgive?

    And you’re right – we don’t know the situation of people “living in sin” or choosing thinigs such as abortion – which is why blogs like this where you freely voice how sinful and ugly the decision is(as much as I may agree with you) – how is that ministering to the heart of that 12 year old who was raped by her uncle and is struggling with her decision to have had an abortion? There needs to be a better balance of Gods love voiced with his judgment.

    • September 17, 2011 11:13 am

      Hi Angel,

      Thanks for your comments. I appreciate your wording – “my job is to love as Christ loves, the Holy Spirit’s job is to convict.” It is out of my love for God and my love for people (the two greatest commandments, according to Jesus), that I say the things I do. It is not my desire to point fingers or to judge people. If you knew me in person, you would see that I strive in all my encounters with people to show that never-ending compassion for others.

      When I say things, in life or in my blog posts, I choose my words carefully. James warns us of the fires that can be started by a careless tongue. But he also reminds us that the words we speak reveal our innermost heart.

      Your final question, “how is that ministering to the heart of that 12-year old who was raped by her uncle and is struggling with her decision to have had an abortion?” has me a little baffled, to be honest. I am not sure where that question came from, and even as I write tears are welling up in my eyes. Is this something close to home? Naturally, this blog will not minister to someone facing a situation like this. Turning to the internet to find answers for a situation like this, in my opinion, is counter-productive. A face-to-face conversation in such a situation is what is needed to minister and offer the clearest “advice” (not sure that’s the right word) to aid a girl in this situation. There are too many variables to consider before answering your question properly. For instance: What about her parents? Are they loving and supportive? Would they help raise the child, or at the very least support their daughter to full term? What about adoption? Is the uncle still in her life? Or was the rape revealed? In order to address the concerns, some of these things, and others need to be considered.

  7. wondering permalink
    September 16, 2011 5:11 pm

    Is it wrong to have an abortion if carrying it through the term you and the baby will die at the end?

    • September 17, 2011 11:41 am

      Hi Wondering,

      Thanks for your question. To answer it, I will draw on the wisdom of Randy Alcorn, who addresses this question in his book Why Pro-Life: Caring for the Unborn and Their Mothers (Oregon, Multnomah Publishers, 2004), pages 76-77:

      “Is abortion justified when a woman’s life or health is threatened by pregnancy or childbirth? It’s an extremely rare case when abortion is required to save the mother’s life. When he was U.S. Surgeon General, Dr. C. Everett Koop stated that in thirty-six years as a pediatric surgeon, he was never aware of a single situation in which a preborn child’s life had to be taken in order to save the mother’s life. He said the use of this argument to justify abortion was a “smoke screen.” Dr. Landrum Shettles claimed that less than 1 percent of all abortions are performed to save the mother’s life (Shettles and Rorvick, Rites of Life (Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 1983), 129).

      Save the Life that can be Saved
      A woman with toxaemia will have adverse health reactions and considerable inconvenience, including probably needing to lie down for much of her pregnancy. This is difficult, but normally not life-threatening. In such cases, abortion for the sake of “health” would not be life-saving but life-taking.

      However, if the mother has a fast-spreading uterine cancer, the surgery to remove the cancer may result in the loss of the child’s life. In an ectopic pregnancy the child is developing outside the uterus. [The child] has no hope of survival and may have to be removed to save his [or her] mother. These are tragic situations, but even if one life must be lost, the life that can be saved should be. More often than not that life is the mother’s. There are rare cases in later stages of pregnancy when the mother can’t be save but the baby can. Again, on life saved is better than two lives lost.

      Friends of [the Alcorn’s] were faced with a situation where removing the mother’s life-threatening and rapidly spreading cancer would result in their unborn child’s death. The pregnancy was so early that there wasn’t time for the child to develop sufficiently to live outside the womb before both mother and child would die. The surgery was performed. But this was in no sense an abortion. The surgery’s purpose wasn’t to kill the child but to save the mother. The death of the child was a tragic-side effect of lifesaving efforts. This was a consistently pro-life act, since to be pro-life does not mean being pro-life just about babies. It also means being pro-life about women.”

      I hope that helps. Alcorn has been very vocal about his pro-life stance over the years and has written about pro-life issues in various books. Just as a note, I value the insight and experience he has had in this field, and respect him for the stance he has taken.

Leave a Reply

